Ask a Question

Does oil need a hechsher?

Answer: Vegetable oil: yes (cRc). Pure extra virgin olive oil: no (cRc).

Reason: Vegetable oil production may share equipment with non-kosher oils.

Source:

  • cRc: vegetable oil requires kosher certification (“production may share equipment with non-kosher oils”); pure extra virgin olive oil is acceptable without hashgachah, while other types of olive oil, flavored or infused oils, and cod liver and fish oil require certification.

Related questions:

References: cRc (askcrc.org), “Vegetable Oil” · cRc (askcrc.org), “Oils” · cRc (askcrc.org), “Olive Oil”